DOG Spelled Backward

One of my favorite sayings is one I saw on a bumper sticker. I’m a dog lover, so maybe that’s why I appreciate it, but it said, “DOG spelled backward is still man’s best friend.”

Recently, I had several hectic days. I was away from the house for twelve hours one day, and several hours the day before and the day after. Rudy, my Golden Retriever, gets neglected when I have busy days like that. He gets food and fresh water and a morning walk but not much other attention. And he soaks up attention the way Bounty paper towels suck up spills.

So, when I finally stopped to take a breath, I sat down on the floor and called him to me. He pranced over and immediately collapsed onto my lap. Pretty soon, his eyes closed and the snoring started. It was as if he’d been waiting for this moment. Finally, he could relax and be at peace.

What a picture of my relationship with my Lord! To let go of all my busy-ness, worries, cares and collapse into His lap, where I can relax and be completely at peace. “Come to me all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

As we head into the busy Christmas season with all the demands of shopping and decorating and family and social obligations, don’t forget to schedule frequent times to rest in the lap of our precious Savior, Jesus. Let Him love you, strengthen you and refresh your spirit, as only a best friend can.

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DOG Spelled Backward

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing26 your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!…

Leave a Reply

