Seeking the Face of God

“Look to the Lord and His strength. Seek his face always.” 1 Chronicles 16:11

Have you ever wondered what it means to seek God’s face? I recall hearing an admonition at church to “Seek God’s face, not His hands.” I understand that to mean I shouldn’t always be looking for what God can do for me. But since I read this verse in 1 Chronicles, I’ve been pondering what it means to seek God’s face. Is it like looking for a loved one in a crowded room? Just how do we seek the face of an invisible God?

A.W. Tozer lamented that most believers long for Christ’s return because of what He’s done for them. But the cross shouldn’t matter. We should be so enamored with Jesus himself that our yearning is based on His person, not His work. “Seek His face, not His hands.”

I think I get it. On my refrigerator is a dry erase board where we leave fun messages forexample of seeking His face each other. Weeks before my son left for his freshman year of college, we used the board to count down the day until his departure, which we anticipated with both excitement for this new phase of his life and sadness at the loss of his presence in our daily lives. On the day of his departure, we changed the message to count the days until he comes home at Thanksgiving.

We’re not looking forward to his return because he mows the yard, or because he keeps us informed of all the latest news in the world of sports. We simply enjoy his presence, being able to chat with him whenever we want, to share jokes and laughter and upsets and concerns and ideas. To celebrate our relationship with him.

I’m convinced that’s what it means to seek God’s face, to look forward to Christ’s return for no other reason than the joy of my relationship with Him.

Seek His face. Always.

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seeking the Face of God

  1. And if we seek the Lord, then we’ll find Him. What a beautiful promise. Nothing is sweeter than being in the presence of the Lord and knowing He is there.

Leave a Reply

