Thanksgiving Part 1

A sign in my kitchen reads, “Thanksgiving was never meant to be limited to one day.”  This week, I’ve made a conscious effort each day to give thanks for something specific.  I hope to continue this through the end of the month.  Here’s my list so far.

Monday: I’m thankful to live in a country where I have a voice in the government.  Although the choices are not always to my liking, I thank God for the founders of our country who had the foresight and understanding of human nature to structure a government that is responsive to the will of the people, that allows the majority to rule but is mindful of minorities’ needs and wishes.

Tuesday: Friends and relatives are fighting cancer, heart disease, mental illness, and numerous other health issues.  People around the world are dealing with starvation, cholera, and all sorts of other diseases.  I’m very thankful that, though I may complain about this or that, I have no immediate, urgent or life-threatening health problems.  Thank you, Lord, for a body that still works as it was meant to.

Wednesday: I am thankful for all of our government leaders who were elected yesterday.  May God bless each one with wisdom and understanding and a servant’s heart.   

Thursday: Thankful for my sisters and brothers and the Godly heritage that has been passed down to us from our parents and grandparents.

Friday: Thankful for telephones.  Although they may wake us unnecessarily at 2:30 am, they also provide a means to alert us during emergencies and to connect with loved ones far away.

Saturday: I’m so thankful that God made the sky blue (my favorite color) and the sunshine warm on a comfortably cool day.

If you’d care to join me in this effort, leave a comment and let me know what you are specifically thankful for.

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

