Thanksgiving Pt. 2

“Thanksgiving was never meant to be limited to one day a year.”

I had the idea to consciously find something to be thankful for every day this month.  The first week was fairly easy.  The second week, life grew busier and I often got to the end of the day without noticing a single thing for which I was especially thankful.  But I don’t want to be like the nine lepers healed by Jesus who neglected to return and thank him.  So here are the things I found to be thankful for this past week.

Sunday: The sermon was on the book of Jonah.  I’ve thankful to be serving God who gives second chances, who doesn’t abandon or give up on us when we think we know better than He.

Monday: Beginnings.  Like sunrise.  I love early mornings when the sun is coming up.  The day is full of promise, ready to be lived.  It’s new.  Mondays are, too.  They’re the start of the work week.  A new start.  I’m thankful for beginnings, and chances to start fresh.

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: These days are all interconnected because on Tuesday, I said good-bye to my son as he left for predeployment training.  He’s a Marine.  Wednesday was his birthday.  It’s also the Marine Corp’s birthday.  And Thursday was Veteran’s Day.  He’s a veteran.  I’m so thankful for my son and the joy he’s brought to my life.  I’m slso thankful for the military men and women who answer an inner call to serve their country and possibly lay down their life for me.  And I’m grateful for those who have served on the battlefield and elsewhere.  I thank God for each and every one.

Friday: I’m thankful for Fridays!

Saturday: After a cloudy, rainy morning, the sun came out and a cool breeze kept the temperature just right for playing in the yard with the dog.  I’m thankful for pets–dogs, cats, birds, fish, and all the other animals that we share life with.  They draw us away from our self-absorption and teach us to care about someone or something else.  I’m partial to dogs, probably because they’re so good at giving us more love than we deserve.  Kind of like God.   Which reminds me of the saying, “Dog spelled backward is still man’s best friend.”

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog!

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving Pt. 2

  1. rachel says:

    i’m thankful for friends and family that God used to shape me into the person i am today!

Leave a Reply

