Ordinary Lives

Found this nugget in an old journal I had used for recording insights gained during my Bible study. The text is out of season, but the message is timeless. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Yesterday I listened to a song sung by Michael English about the birth of Jesus. He sings from Joseph’s point of view, asking, “Why me? I’m just a simple man of trade. Why him, with all the rulers in the world? Why here, inside this stable filled with hay? Why her? She’s just an ordinary girl. Now I’m not one to second-guess what angels have to say, but this is such a strange way to save the world.”

It brought tears to my eyes, thinking of Mary and Joseph holding Jesus, their creator, in their arms, kissing his head, his cheeks. Being able to kiss the face of God!

It amazes me to realize how God loves and esteems common, ordinary things and people. He sent Christ to a lowly stable, proclaimed the news to shepherds rather than kings, chose an obscure girl and a carpenter to be Jesus’ earthly parents. Think about how ordinary it really was. Mary was just going along living her life when the angel appeared. And for the most part, she continued living her ordinary life after the angel left. She and Joseph raised Jesus like any ordinary kid, watching for his first smile, first step, first solid food. Then other children came along. Just day to day ordinary living.

And the shepherds. How many nights had they spent out in the fields with the sheep before the angels appeared? How many nights afterward? Just going along, living life.

We always want the miracles, the obvious signs that God is working. And yet, when they come, they’re brief experiences in the middle of our ordinary, everyday lives. I guess ordinary is okay. Because He sees the ordinary. He uses the ordinary. And every so often, He makes an appearance in the ordinary.  I need to look for Him in the ordinary things of my day.

I love you, Lord, for loving me. Just ordinary me.

 

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ordinary Lives

  1. Paula Lynn says:

    Love this! Couldn’t help but think about the fact that he loves ordinary me as I was reading. Blessed! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Lyla Fell says:

    The is very nice.

  3. Pingback: Extraordinary Love « Thoughts from the Porch

Leave a Reply

