He’s Got the Whole World

Flying is so much fun. First, I juggle bags and a suitcase to print out my boarding pass. Next, I get to undress in public so no one will think I’m a terrorist. Then, I put myself back together and walk-sprint to the farthest point of the airport and sink into a vacant seat in the waiting area. The plane hasn’t arrived at the gate yet, so I take a few minutes to relax and catch my breath.

Across the room, a sign posted on the wall catches my attention. It’s one of those airline signs, intended to inspire you so that the pain of proving you’re not going to blow up the plane will pale in comparison to the joy of squeezing comfortably into a 15” x 15” space for the next 2-4 hours. The sign reads:

“There’s a whole world with your name on it.”

Nice thought but of course, it’s theologically incorrect. I know this because just days before, I read Psalm 50. Speaking for God in verses 10-12, the psalmist declares:

“…every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills. I know every bird in the mountains, and the creatures of the field are mine. If I were hungry I would not tell you, for the world is mine, and all that is in it.”

And 1 Chronicles 29:11 says: “Yours, O Lord, is the greatness and power and glory and majesty and splendor for everything in heaven and earth is yours.”

Think about that. I mean really think about it. Everything is His. The things and people I call mine really belong to God. My house is His. My clothing is His. My car is His. My children are His. My husband is His. My neighborhood, my community, my state, my nation all belong to God. Everything is His. Everything. Every. Thing.

There’s a whole world with His name on it.

 

What parts of your life pose the most difficulty in acknowledging God’s ownership?

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He’s Got the Whole World

  1. It’s hard for me to admit He’s got his name on my problems and stresses. I know He understands them but I have to remember He’s got his name on that “file” that holds all those worries. Mary, I’ve seen His name on you!

  2. How very true – it’s all His. We are His. Something we need to repeat to ourselves several times a day!

Leave a Reply

