Finding Rest

My favorite book of the Bible is Psalms. Whatever my mood—whether scared, down in the dumps with little hope, feeling like everyone is against me or like I just conquered the world–I can find something in the Psalms that mirrors my thoughts and my emotions.

Other times, I’m inspired by what I find there. One of my favorites is Psalm 62:

“My soul finds rest in God alone, my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress. I will never be shaken.”

Do you sense the peace? The confidence?

I had always interpreted that “rest” as the kind you do when you’re tired. As in, God is the only place I can truly relax and recuperate. But the Hebrew word for rest means so much more than that. It means to wait in silence, in confident expectation.

I picture a woman standing at the window, waiting for her beloved husband to come home after a long absence. She knows he’s coming. It’s only a matter of time. She pulls her shawl or sweater close around her. She doesn’t want to talk for it might break her concentration as she watches the road. She knows, knows without a doubt he’s coming, and she waits in silence, in confident expectation that any moment now, he’ll appear in her field of vision.

If only I could practice that type of resting in God. When storms and trials come, I’m more like the disciples in the boat where Jesus slept, shaking him and crying, “Don’t you care that we’re going to drown? Do something!”

According to BlueLetterBible.com, a literal translation of this verse from the Hebrew would be “Upon God alone my soul is confident; to thee silence, praise.”

Whenever I pray, I tend to rush in to God’s presence with my requests and rush back out. But I have an idea, a way to establish a new habit of finding rest in God alone. The next time I pray, I’ll try to stand in silence, confident that no matter what I’m concerned about, He’s already on it.                                                                                                                         Rest.                                                                                                                                               Wait in silence.                                                                                                                       Confident expectation.

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

