Mother Was Right!

Remember that line your mom always said that you vowed never to repeat to your children?

“Eat your vegetables. There are starving children in the world who would love to have them.”

“Shut the door! We’re not cooling (or heating) the outdoors, y’know.”

“Don’t mumble. If you have something to say, speak up.”

“Are you going out looking like that?”

“Always wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident.”

“Call me when you get there so I know you arrived safely.”

Okay, now raise your hand if you’ve ever heard the dreaded words coming out of your mouth. Anybody with me?

Turns out, Mom was right about most things. Funny how we usually can’t see that maternal wisdom until we join the club. So, in honor of Mother’s Day, I’d love to find out what phrases your mom uttered that drove you crazy but have proven true. Leave a comment and tell me your mom’s words and how you discovered their truth.

As for me? I was a picky eater and wouldn’t touch anything I didn’t like. Mom always said, “Well, you can learn to like it.” She was right! I now like asparagus, sauerkraut, mushrooms, and I’m working on kale!

Your turn. What did your mom always tell you that proved to be true?

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Memories, Mother, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

