Relax.

I love it when God surprises me with new understanding of a familiar verse. Psalm 46:1 says, “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.” The King James Version uses the term “very present help” I’d always taken this as a time related term, meaning God is “always” present to help us when we need it.

Recently I looked up the Hebrew meaning of “ever” and found it really denotes a quantity. The BlueLetterBible.com defined it as exceeding, abundant.

In light of that, let me rephrase this verse. God is our refuge and strength, an exceeding, abundant present help in trouble. When we’re in trouble, God is all there. It may not feel like it when we see those waters roar and foam and the mountains quake and fall into the deepest part of the sea. But God is there in full force. Exceeding. Abundant.

Understanding this truth makes it easier to obey verse 10. “Be still, and know that I am God.”

That “Be still” part? Another surprise. It doesn’t really mean to just quit moving. It means Relax. Let go.

How can we do that in the midst of the storm? Know that he is God. That word “know” isn’t just mental agreement. It’s to know by experience. Knowing and experiencing can be very different things. I’d been through a couple of hurricanes before Hurricane Ike threatened my area. I thought I knew what to expect. But when Ike hit at three o’clock in the morning and the house trembled under the wind’s force, I knew by experience what Ike was capable of. It’s a different kind of knowledge, accompanied by deep certainty.relax

Another way of saying verse 10: Relax. Know God by experiencing him and His power.

There’s a lot more in between these two verses. But I love the sound of them together.

God is our refuge and strength, an exceeding abundant help in time of trouble. SO relax. Let go. Experience God.

Today, remember that God is all there with you. Relax. Let Go. Experience Him.

About marylhamilton

I'm a free-lance writer, currently working on a middle-grade novel. Originally from WI, I've been in TX for about 30 years.
This entry was posted in Christian inspiration, Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

